Thoughts

Valentine’s Day-Love it or Hate it?

People either celebrate it with a significant other, others have Anti-Valentine’s Day parties while others don’t celebrate it at all. I’ve never fussed too much over this holiday so I fall somewhere in the middle of the love-hate scale. This is the first time in 6 years, where I will be single at this time of year. Guess what I’m doing? I’m spending my evening with a bunch of other single ladies and I’m excited! And let’s be honest…this is a holiday for the ladies. And what I mean by that is that we definitely hold much more importance on this holiday then men do.

I have spoken with others, particularly women, who have been rather “disappointed” that their spouse didn’t “make a big deal” about this day, or their un-communicated expectations were not met. And ladies, let’s be honest, some of us are pretty good at just expecting the men in our lives “just to know” certain things. Speak up or forever hold your peace, unless of course, your man has the ability to read your mind. To me, Valentine’s Day is just another day to show the people in your life that you love them, whether that’s a romantic partner, family or your friends, should you choose to participate in it.

If you are in a relationship, what is more important is how the person treats you every day in the year, not just on Valentine’s Day and I’m not talking about how much stuff they buy you. If Valentine’s Day is the only day you or your spouse do something special for one another, then I’m thinking there are other issues that need to be addressed and you may want to sit down and have a chat, either with yourself or collectively.

Every day is an opportunity to show each other how much you love one another; don’t wait for a certain date on the calendar to do it. When I have been in a relationship, or if I were now, I would want the person to do whatever felt natural to them because they wanted to…not because they feel obligated to in fear of my reaction, for example. As I would only do what felt natural to me. But I suppose that applies to every other day as well.

It’s also coined, Forced Affection Day. And part of me does get a chuckle out of that name because I see how commercialized this holiday is and how much of a hype the media creates. But if it does feel forced, then don’t do it. Simple as that.

If you’re single, don’t let this day get you ‘down in the dumps’ because you don’t have that “someone special” to share it with. Spend it with friends and family or even better….use this day as an excuse to pamper the most important person and the one you should love the most…YOU! Or celebrate the fact that you’re single, why not? Fall in love with yourself and then share your life with someone. Many people have a tendency to look at single-hood as a bad thing, either in regards to their own ‘lack’ of a relationship or someone else’s. Some people even “pity” those that aren’t in a relationship. And this holiday, for those that have not made peace with not being in a relationship, it can amplify all those negative feelings of their perception of being single. And to all of that, I say, screw it! 🙂 There’s nothing wrong with being single. And the more focus that is put on the lack of anything in our lives, the universe will continue to deliver that. Being single gives you an opportunity (if you take advantage of it) to get to know yourself, to give yourself and your life your undivided attention and if you’re interested in dating, it gives you a chance to be social and get to know other people.

With all that being said, however you choose to celebrate February 14th (if at all), have fun, laugh a lot and spread some love! Then again, that’s good advice for the other 364 days of the year too!

As always,
Love and Sunshine.
S.

love-free-original-painting-signed-robert-r-robert-r-abstract

4 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day-Love it or Hate it?

  1. If single, I don’t really feel down about the day. I like to think of it as a day for more than just couples.

    I like to take the opportunity to show my immediate family extra consideration, to make sure they know they are an important part of my life. Whether with words, sweet treats, flowers, cards or making a special breakfast.

    I pretty much agree with everything you said about the “commercial” holiday.

    Like

Leave me a little love note: