Music

Crazy Beats!

I should really be sleeping since it’s almost 1 a.m. but instead…I ended up on YouTube. 🙂 Shocking.

I came across this amazingly, talented man (whilst checking out another link of the Kalimba my sister sent me). He’s playing what’s called a Kalimba or “thumb drum”…as far as anything else he’s doing, I have no idea but it sounds wicked!

I’m always in search of new music and I love listening to music that incorporates different instruments and techniques; and even more so since I’ve been tapping into my own inner musician with my flute and guitar. Post some links in the comments of some cool beats should you feel so inclined :). Some of my favorite music is Native American and African inspired; it’s speaks to my soul. My soul is going to bed now…

I am getting sleepy…6,5,4,3,2,1…slowly sleepy am I getting…5,4,3,2,1. I think I messed that song up? Meh. Ha!

On that note, until next time,

Much Love,
S.

4 thoughts on “Crazy Beats!

  1. This is amazing! I love the Kalimba. My mom has one of those and I love their sound.

    It looks like he has it rigged up so that the sound vibrations of the Kalimba go into those two devices by his feet. This allows him to transform the sound to make it distorted or add reverb and what not. Also one those devices are allowing him to record and loop part of what hes playing so he can have it in the background… basically keeping the beat. Love this kind of creativity! Thank you!

    Like

  2. I’m glad you like it! Yes, they are neat, very unique sound. My sister is planning on buying one which lead me to this video. Never heard one before until last night/morning.
    I’ve seen other people use that foot pedal device and it’s beautifully complicated. It’s like a one person band! 🙂

    Like

  3. So true. It is like a one person band. Oh, by the way that’s awesome that you are tapping into your musician side. You should get one of those “foot pedal devices”, hook up your flute and guitar and get crazy! haha.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’m having fun with it! As awesome as that sounds…let’s not get too carried away just yet, haha, just learned my first song on the flute last night…would be a disaster if I tried to be my own band! Oh my…Ha!

      Like

Leave me a little love note:

