Health/Well Being

Day 7: Juice Cleanse Update

Day 7 is here and coming to an end! Where do I start? I won’t bore you all with the nitty-gritty stuff. I will note here that I also decided to start watching the ‘Making A Murderer’ documentary series this week as well, after giving into all the hype on social media. Every night this week, except for yesterday and tonight was spent staying up after midnight because one cannot simply watch just one episode! Oh my! My alarm goes off at 6:30 every morning so 6 – 6 1/2 hours of sleep does not do my body good, especially not when juicing. Lesson #2. Check out my first lesson, if you missed it.

Day 3 was not a good day for me. I made a juice the night before for my breakfast and lunch juices the next day. I even taste tested before bottling it in my mason jar – yummy I say! Wrong! The next day, I had to force myself to drink my breakfast juice – it was so bad! The cucumber and celery was so overpowering it was making me feel nauseous. A perfect example of the importance of sticking to a recipe if you are a newbie. The apples were there for a reason, haha! The rest of the day I couldn’t stomach drinking it, so I opted for water and coconut water. Coconut water, again, is not my favorite, but I got it into me. By the end of the day, I felt light-headed, groggy, and very hungry! I came home, heated up some veggie broth, drank my dinner juice, and lots of water – I felt much better.

Day 4 is the day I decided that I need to eat dinner and have every evening since. If tomorrow I feel good and want to do juice-only then so be it. Prior to starting this juice-only cleanse, I don’t have a big appetite and am content with eating just lunch, dinner and a few snacks, so I’ve never resonated with “hungry pains” or the need to eat a huge meal. But I get it now! Oh boy! I have felt hungry the majority of the time since Day 1 and this is something that is really uncomfortable for me. I had a hard time just ‘getting over it’ and the constant brain fog, which made it hard to think clearly.

These are common symptoms of cleansing as the toxins leave your body.  But it began to feel more like punishment than an enjoyable challenge. I feel much better – the brain fog is subsiding – but I know I did myself an injustice by not going to sleep early as recommended. And if you’re curious, these are the only symptoms I’ve had with the exception on Day 1 and 2 of frequent bowel movements. TMI? Well, it’s near impossible to talk about a cleanse and not discuss the ‘cleansing’ effects. That’s just how it is, folks! 🙂

wizardofoz-noplacelikehometopoop-humor-joke-meme-funny-lol-photo-picture
Too much?

I went into this with the intention of starting this cleanse as a juice-only cleanse and that I would gauge how I felt as time went on and making changes accordingly. I thought I could and was really aiming to do the 10 days, juice-only, no solid food. Well, things do always go as planned. I could have stuck it out without dinner but I don’t want to, to be completely honest. I’d be miserable, mentally and physically, the entire time. What’s the point then if I’m not enjoying the process? There are no hard and fast rules when it comes to this and many folks do exactly as I am doing now. I’m a big believer in listening to my body. If it doesn’t feel right then it needs to change. So I changed it. Easy peasy. No more making myself feel bad for not doing things exactly as I set out to do.

If I created a situation for myself, where my life was in jeopardy, like the two men in the documentary I talked about in my last post, then I’d tough it out. The long-term benefits would certainly outweigh the short-term discomfort. This is far from my situation though – I’m healthy and active – so I’m happy with my decision and proud of myself of sticking with this. I have fed my body so much goodness in this last week and that is what is most important to me.

Today’s breakfast and lunch juice – sweet potato, carrot, strawberry, and spinach! My own recipe actually came out tasting yummy, much to my surprise (and it’s rusty color)! 😉

12512794_10153418523362794_7438212114060748173_n
Lesson #1: Plan.Plan.Plan.
Lesson #2: Get plenty of sleep.
Lesson #3: Go with the flow. Listen to your body.
Lesson #4: Veggie broth is great for between meals.
Lesson #5: Coconut water tastes best straight out of a fresh coconut, with some rum, on a    beach down South somewhere. No exceptions.

Happy weekend, everyone! I’ll back back next week to summarize at the end of 10 days.

Big love,
S.

Leave me a little love note:

