Health/Well Being · Thoughts

Juice Cleanse Challenge Accepted

Back in December, I watched the documentary, “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.” I was immediately fascinated with this new (to me) concept of juicing and before the documentary was over, I decided I was going to do my own juice cleanse in January. Admittedly, I wanted to enjoy all the goodies that x-mas had to offer since I decided to do an only juice cleanse, no solid foods. I also wanted to be prepared – I needed to buy a juicer, gather recipes, etc. so I’d be set up for success!

Yesterday was Day 1 of 10. Pictured below was my breakfast. What you see is exactly what I used for this recipe.

And after getting the swing of things with the juicer, albeit slightly terrifying with the grinding, an apple getting stuck and carrots swirling around in the feeder, I was impressed how good this juice tasted and how it easy it was.

I went about my day – drank water, made my dinner juice (tomato, celery, and carrot combo), had a herbal tea…but by 10 p.m. I was so hungry, like hangry hungry! This is where things went downhill. It is expected to be hungry the first few days but then after a few days (many say by Day 3), it subsides. I wanted to eat something solid so bad but I knew I’d feel like a huge failure if I did. It was only Day 1 and I couldn’t believe I wanted to cave in so soon. But no big deal right?

Well, here’s the thing…my ego doesn’t like not being successful/good at something the first time I do it. I have been this way for as long as I can remember. I’ve always set high expectations (some times too high) for myself and beat myself up when I don’t reach them, forgetting that I am human. It’s not coming from a place to be better than anyone else, I just think I am suppose to be amazing at everything that I do, the first time I do it. “Failure” isn’t something that sits well with me. I know what you’re thinking – it’s ridiculous, it’s a part of life – and it sounds ridiculous to even type it. The bigger part of me knows all of this but my human-ness struggles with this. Over the years, I have become easier on myself, thanks to admitting this to myself, but last night was not one of those nights. I had to make a choice because limbo is not a fun place to be in. I wanted to move forward on the rest of my evening. I caved – I ate a meal- and it was damn good!

Then I had to be honest with myself. I didn’t set myself up for success, despite thinking that I had and I was in for a bigger mental challenge than I anticipated. I only had 2 large glasses of juice, 3 large glasses of water and 1 herbal tea. From my research, it is recommended to do a minimum of 4 x 16-20 ounce juices. I wasn’t being mindful of the time passing and making sure that I got all my juices in. I essentially just substituted the 2 meals I normally have for a glass of juice. Not good. I know having the 2 additional glasses of juice wouldn’t have cured my hunger pains but I know it would have certainly helped me feel more full. Not to mention, I’d be getting the proper amount of fiber, minerals and vitamins.

I prepared myself well by getting recipes, stocking my fridge so full of produce I can hardly shut the door, signed up for a free 5 Day Reboot  (juice cleanse) with the same guy who did the documentary I talked about but I didn’t plan out my day well enough. I wasn’t being mindful. This isn’t something you just fly by the seat of your pants, just like all other things in life. I believe in being a conscious creator, not a willy-nilly navigator. But clearly I’m not always good at being this all of the time.

I also didn’t prepare myself mentally. The biggest lesson I learned  reminded myself of was the importance of being easy on myself. So what things didn’t go exactly as planned – it’s okay, it’s more than okay actually, that it didn’t. I don’t expect anyone else to be perfect – to always say and do things “right” – so why do I expect that of myself? Why is it not okay to make a mistake? Why is it not okay to do better tomorrow? Who decided that I am the perfect expert at everything that I set out to do, especially when I’ve never even done it before? What would someone who loves themselves do…?

So today is a new day! I’ve brushed myself off, put my ego back in check, tucked away this lesson I was reminded of, and have set forth for success! Here’s my breakfast this morning and there was enough left over as you can see for my lunch. Nailed it!


I want to hear from my fellow juicers! Tell me about your experiences – the good, bad and in between. Those of you who haven’t juiced, have you recently been reminded of the lesson I shared today? Tell me in the comments below.

“You were born to be real, not to be perfect.”

Big love,
S.

p.s. check out my blogging buddy. Isn’t he the cutest?! 🙂

12508755_10153408369512794_635536152946234835_n[1]

One thought on “Juice Cleanse Challenge Accepted

Leave me a little love note:

