Thoughts · Uncategorized

How To Get A Job Without Applying For One

What?! How, you say? Read on, friend…

As some of you may know, I have been working in retail for 10 years…for the same company. I’ve only had one job but in 2 different cities. Clearly, I don’t rank overly high on the spontaneous scale in the career area. I got a college education and graduated with distinction a.k.a. honors. I applied for a few jobs, landed one interview and a job offer (to which I declined). In the midst of all of this, my life changed. The way in which I view the world and how it worked broadened, my understanding of the Universe and creation of our species all changed, but for the better. (Thank you so much, Dad for showing me the way!)

Everything was brought into focus in a way that I felt I was beginning to look at the world with brand new eyes. I finally started feeling like Life Itself was starting to make sense as I was getting answers to questions I remember asking myself as a child. I discovered The Law of Attraction and The Art of Allowing. This is why I never pursued my career in my chosen field – but that’s a post for another time.

Fast forward…

A few weeks ago, everything I know to be true about how the world works was all confirmed in a rather unconventional, completely unexpected way. I have been asking the Universe, putting thoughts out there for some time now (years) about wanting something more for a career. I knew I did not want to be in retail for the rest of my existence. I have so many interests and have had a hard time deciding where to go or what should my next step be. I have an ego that is slightly fear based which likes comfort. Fast forward 5 years after I graduated college and I am still at the same job – content to have enough money to pay my bills and have a little left over for myself.  The people I work with are great – we’re like a family.  But I’ve wanted more. I saw myself doing something where I was being challenged mentally and where I could use the skills I have to do more than be a cashier.

Please don’t misinterpret that statement as a judgement on those who work in retail. Working in retail is a hard job, a lot more challenging that many realize. I feel that everyone should work in retail for a month at Christmas time so maybe then it would teach people to be more considerate and respectful to those in the service industry. Working with the general public can already be tricky enough but where I’ve been working, many customers have substance abuse issues and mental health problems, and loss prevention issues consistently pop up on a daily basis. But I wouldn’t have changed it for the world because I have had the opportunity to practice many of the things I have learned over the years on my spiritual path. Contrast = growth and there has been plenty of opportunities for that. Haha!

Long of the short…or the short of the long of it, truth be told – my new job found me. I did not apply for this job, I hadn’t even started searching for jobs yet. My new bosses have been customers at where I work since the buildings are right beside one another. They approached me about the job 3 times before I took them up on the offer to go in for an interview. They saw something in me – potential to be their future employee. I went in for 2 interviews – my first interviews in about 5 years (yes, nerve racking but I played this quick video over and over again and it really helped!). And I was offered the job not long after my second interview. They had originally offered the job to another woman so I went through the motions of disappointment etc. and then within a matter of days, she reconsidered for whatever reason and they got in touch with me to offer me the position. Now how cool is all of this?!

Morals of the story
Be nice to everyone.
Be your awesome self! Treat people with respect because you honestly never know who will be your future boss or someone you will have a connection with down the road – or what opportunity you just missed out on because you used someone as your emotional punching bag.

The Law of Attraction WORKS! This is how things work. You literally don’t have to go searching – things, experiences, people will come into your experience that will be a match to the thoughts and vibes you are putting out. Your work is to choose wisely what you are going to put your attention to. Remember: There is no such thing as ‘No’ to the Universe.

The Art of Allowing WORKS! This is more about being that doing. As soon as I decided I was ready for something new, I did my very best every day to not push against the fact I was still working in retail and not there – doing that job I didn’t know I wanted. In other words, I made peace with what was so I could make room for what was to come. And so I wasn’t miserable and enjoying life until my next adventure came around.

You cannot ask for something and push against (a.k.a. complain, focus on all the things you dislike about the current situation etc.) the very thing that caused your new desire and expect anything different to come into your reality. Why? Because your thoughts and your energetic vibration (yes, people – we are energetic beings, the sooner you comes to terms with this, the more fun you will have) are focused on what you don’t have – the lack. You say, I want a new job – but your energy is in resistance to what your current job is. Resistance just gets you more of what is. But it will have a different face or location perhaps. And you don’t want that. You have to find a way to get yourself off the emotional hamster wheel. I focused on the people and customers I got to work with, the fact I had a job when many do not, my 3 weeks vacation – the things I like about my job. Your attitude towards what is – is paving the way for what’s to come and is also shaping your perspective of what is. Your choice – you always have a choice.

I’m getting rather long winded here but there’s one other important aspect to all of this: Change and stepping out of our comfort zones. I enjoy interviews. Said no one ever. It’s a nerve racking process. So is leaving behind my second home for the last 8 years, saying good-bye to my friends and favorite customers, closing the chapter I’ve read over and over again and turning to the next page. But what’s come out of all this, is more than a new and exciting job with great bosses and co-workers (my own office, no evenings or weekend shifts, and more money – little brag there, hehe!) 🙂 – I have new found confidence in myself. I’m feeling pretty great that I’ve manifested this into my life. On the other side of the nerves and the unknown – aside from less frequent trips to the bathroom, sweaty palms and the dreaded, “I feel like I’m going to puke” feeling – is growth, a better understanding and appreciation of ourselves and great experiences…a.k.a. LIFE!

We will be more upset with ourselves for missing an opportunity out of fear of the unknown than we will for trying it with our best foot forward, even if it doesn’t turn out how we hoped. But what if it does? What if it even surpasses our wildest expectations?! For me, that is something worth finding out!

With love, always.
S.

2 thoughts on “How To Get A Job Without Applying For One

  1. This is a really good post! I will be graduating from college in less then a year and need to start looking for jobs! I want to do something I’m passionate about and have been putting good energy to bring in the future job in my life!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed it! How exciting! Congratulations! I’ve been there a few times, hehe! Keep doing what you’re doing and I’m confident the perfect job will be yours all in divine time.The Universe is behind you. 🙂

      Like

Leave me a little love note:

