Health/Well Being · Thoughts

Week One of Getting My Butt Kicked!

I finished my first week of boot camp this week. Oh.my.gawd.

I go Tuesday and Thursday mornings at 6 a.m. Anyone who knows me knows I am not a morning person and I lurve sleep with all my heart. To my surprise, getting out of bed at 5 a.m. isn’t as bad as I thought. And I can’t believe I am even saying that. I have a nap, a ridiculously long nap (approx. 2 hours) each day when I come home from boot camp. But I’m so happy I didn’t let the early wake up calls get in the way of doing this. Our minds have a tendency of predicting things to worse that what they end up being.

The first day, a girl left because she puked. And then shortly before she chucked – I started to feel somewhat squeamish. But I didn’t puke. Yay for no puking! I’ve worked out consistently inconsistent for as long as I can remember. I lost 30 lbs. and 45″ a few years back and fell off the wagon again and gained some back. I don’t know how much because I don’t have a scale but enough to make my pants tighter and my positive self-image lower. But I’m human. And more importantly, I’ve learned my lesson and taking steps to be the healthiest and fittest I’ve even been! Anyways, back to boot camp…

I have never felt more out of shape. Ever. And I’ve done some challenging exercises over the years and didn’t think I was that out of shape, but this is on a whole other level. And not to mention, pretty much everyone in the class is much more fit than I and have been doing this boot camp longer than the 5 weeks I’ve signed up for. But none of that matters. I put my attention on myself and what I’m doing and not on how many more push-ups Sally can do more than me.

To plow through the 45 minute work-outs, I’ve come to realize that our minds will give up before our bodies will. It’s not about anyone else but YOU. No one is born looking like Arnold or Jillian Michael – everyone started from a similar place so we have to give ourselves credit for at least getting off our butts and doing something and STOP comparing ourselves to others. Use others as inspiration. Being strong and fit is something that has to be worked at and one that requires a lifestyle overhaul. We can sacrifice our work-outs and our efforts with negative self-talk. Our mentality is a HUGE component to our success, in the gym or else where in life. So be good to yourselves, people! Give yourself a pat on the back for a job well done! I’ve signed up with a girl friend of mine so having a work-out buddy makes exercises that makes you think, “W.T.F?!” that much more motivating.

I’ve also had to get in the habit of eating pre and post work-out which I wasn’t always doing. Eating early in the morning, if I haven’t been up for a while, tends to make me feel nauseated no matter what it is. But so far, so good. I’ve seem to have found a good balance between eating enough so I have the energy to exercise but not too much that I puke. I’m learning and becoming more in tuned with my body. Awesome!

I have also never been in as much pain from a work-out than I have this week. For instance, my bun I put in my hair yesterday before going to work was crooked and off center, in a rather obvious way. But since my arm muscles seem to pull in the opposite direction of where I want them to go, it hurt so much to bend my arms over head. So I left it. All day. I didn’t care because it took far too much effort to get it up there in the first place so I wasn’t about to try that all over again. Haha! I’ve also been walking like a pirate with 2 peg legs since 4 days ago – it’s like I have no joints in my legs. Or my arms. Not to mention, I keep on dropping things WAY more than I normally would just because I apparently enjoy taking 35 seconds just to bend down to pick it up and then another 30 to get back up. This is the case even after multiple stretching each day and a hot bath every night. But I have to laugh at all of this (everyone else thinks it’s funny) πŸ™‚ or it would be easy to allow the discomfort of my body tearing and building muscle to discourage me and I’d give up.

Oh the things I take for granted – like going to the bathroom, tying my shoes, sneezing, going up and down stairs, scratching my back, shaving my armpits (that was an adventure), walking…essentially moving in any sort of fashion. πŸ™‚ Breathing appears to be the only thing that doesn’t hurt. πŸ˜› But it’s all going to be worth it. And I’m enjoying the process of challenging my physical self more than I have ever before, stepping out of my comfort zone, and doing something that is just for me.

So if you’re like me, feeling incredibly out of shape, sore, and wondering how you’re going to get through your next work-out (even though, in the back of your mind, you know always do)…

jdklgvjsld

“You have to sweat like a pig and work like a horse so you can look like a fox.”Β  πŸ˜‰ Grunting, groaning, cursing under my breath, and sweating in places I didn’t know sweat is part of my regular routine. So ladies, forget about looking “sexy” while you work out – ditch the pre-workout make-up and the need to look good while you’re working out. We’ve all been there. But you’re not likely going to push yourself as hard if you’re distracted about how much of a hot mess you look.

Remind yourself of that awesome sense of accomplishment you feel every time you finish that work-out, pick the healthy food over the junk food and decide to love yourself instead of put yourself down. Celebrate your accomplishments – no matter how small they are. You are one step closer to where you want to be. I know I am, peg-legged, crooked hair and all! πŸ™‚

With love,
S.

One thought on “Week One of Getting My Butt Kicked!

Leave me a little love note:

