Thoughts

A Time To Reflect

As the year is quickly coming to an end and the Christmas holidays are almost upon us, I always look back on the year and reflect. And I reflect with the help of my journal because let’s be honest here…I don’t always remember all the details. This time of year I always get a bit more nostalgic. I’ve had some ups and downs and made some pretty amazing memories too. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve lost, I’ve had some firsts (kayaking this summer), I’ve tested my mental strength (5 hour tattoo), and I’ve loved a whole lot. So I can look back on this year and although it wasn’t my favorite – I am thankful and appreciate all the goodness that has come into my experience. Ye ol’ attitude of gratitude!

Image

So as the holidays come upon us, I know it can be a stressful time for many people. Focus on the little things – a full belly, a warm house, love – those are the things that truly matter. There was a huge fire just a few blocks away from where I work and live at the beginning of this week. Many people have been evacuated from their homes with little time to grab more than the clothes on their backs – leaving many with no where to go other than a hotel with no guarantee of being home in time for Christmas. It’s situations like this that serve as a reminder of how fortunate many of us are and how there’s always someone in a worse predicament than us. Remember that and take a few moments to ask the Universe to shine it’s light on their hearts. “Put a little love in your heart…” and in theirs. 🙂

This will be my last post until after the holidays. I am wishing each and every one of you a very Merry Christmas (or whatever you celebrate this time of year), filled with lots of love and laughter. And maybe a little too much wine. 🙂

With love,
S.

Leave me a little love note:

