Health/Well Being

DIY Natural Toothpaste, Deodorant and Facial Toner

I have been on a quest for some time now to incorporate as many natural personal care products into my daily routine as possible. Many of these products can be a little pricy so my budget doesn’t always allow me to have as much variety on hand as I would like. So I decided the other day to make some of my own and it was so much fun! I made my own facial toner, toothpaste, and deodorant. I was on a roll baby!

Below I am going to share the links to the websites and products I used. I am not being paid to endorse these products or websites; I’m a newbie DIYer and I just want to make it easier for those of you Do-It-Youselfers who are new like me! 🙂  There are plenty of different companies who make these products so as always, do your own research to find the right product for you and always remember to read the label (I discuss more on this topic, here).

I found a recipe and some good information on making your own facial toner on this website, which I came across on DIY Natural‘s Facebook page. The recipe I used is one part ACV and 2 parts filtered water. I use Bragg’s ACV. But any organic ACV with “the mother” a.k.a. the brown floaty stuff/unfiltered will work. I did a 1/4 cup ACV, 1/2 cup of water. For some, that ratio may be too strong, others may want a more concentrated version – it’s trial and error to see what ratio works best for you.

Image

For the toothpaste and deodorant, I made a base to use for both. 6 tbs of baking soda, 4 tbs of coconut oil (warmed for 10 seconds in the microwave), 2 tbs of water, and sweet orange essential oil (approx. 10 drops).

Image          Image

I separated half into another container to use for the deodorant. I added some of this talc/cornstarch free body powder. This last ingredient is optional. I’ve read on a number of websites that many people have had success with just the baking soda, coconut oil and essential oil recipe. Deodorant is done! I have only used this recipe a few times so before I give my solidified thumbs up or down, I’ll have use it for a few more days. So far, I am l liking it though. I still sweat which is what you want because your body releases toxins this way and I don’t stink so I have a feeling I’m onto something! My pits may be sensitive to EOs since I reacted to another natural deodorant product and the only thing it in that I think would cause a reaction would be the essential oils. If that’s the case, I’ll just make an unscented version! 🙂 So for those of you with sensitive skin, I would encourage you to go easy on the essential oils.

For the toothpaste, I added a few drops of eucalyptus oil. Clicking on the link brings you to the website of the one I used. For those of you who are Canadian Residents, I purchased it at my local Nutrition House but again, you can find a variety of brands of essential oils in other health food and grocery stores. Admittedly, this tastes like crap…all of it – well it’s the baking soda taste that is a bit overwhelming. I forgot how salty baking soda is – ooo eee! But remaining positive here, it could be worse and it’s tolerable the length of time I am brushing my teeth. However, I’m thinking I’m going to play around with the recipe a little bit once this batch is done. I’ve read you can add Stevia to sweeten it up a bit and maybe a bit more coconut oil will do the trick. My taste buds are saying, WTF?! but my teeth are super smooth – squeaky in fact when I rubbed my finger over them so it’s worth it!

I’m excited to see what else I can mix up in the kitchen! I’d love for you to share your recipes and experiences (good and learning lesson ones) with your DIY products in the comments below! 🙂 Until next time…

As always,
With love.
S.

One thought on “DIY Natural Toothpaste, Deodorant and Facial Toner

Leave me a little love note:

