Uncategorized

Dear Younger Me

I wrote this in February of last year in my journal and I thought I would share. For a while, there were the “Dear ___ year old me” videos popping up all over YouTube as some of you may remember, offering advice on life to the younger versions of ourselves. I really liked the idea so it inspired me to write my own list but I tried to make it a little more light-hearted, funny and random with a few simple but solid words of wisdom thrown in.

Dear 10 year old me,

-You were not adopted; your sister just has a unique way of showing her love for you.
-You will stop sucking your thumb and your teeth will not be crooked – lucky you! (I may or may not have sucked my thumb til this age – don’t judge) 😛
-Wear deodorant – if you can smell your own BO, it’s highly likely everyone else can.
-You will get your period soon and you are not dying even though it may feel like it from time to time. It’s going to come and go for the next 30+ years! (and you always wanted to grow up so quickly…)
-Kids can be cruel but always remember you are beautiful inside and out.
-If a boy is mean to you, it’s not always or if ever because he has a crush on you – he’s just mean. Crush on a nice boy, you’ll thank yourself later.
-Waking up in the morning is not the end of the world. You are old enough where temper tantrums are no longer border line cute. (You’ll be happy to know I no longer throw temper tantrums when my alarm goes off) 🙂
-Your sister will be your best friend.
-When you’ve had a bad dream, please do not stand at the end of Dad’s bed in complete darkness; for the love of god, turn on a light or in the very least stand beside him upon waking him. (No wonder I gave Dad near cardiac arrest very time I did it – I see now how frightening this would be, haha!)
-Never stop laughing, getting dirty, being carefree and silly. You NEVER have to completely grow up. How cool is that?!
-If you don’t feel good when you hang out with a friend, stop hanging out with them. There are 3 billion people on this planet; you WILL find another friend.
-Pads will not always be as thick as McDonald’s Big Macs. They do get better, or thinner I should say.
-Mom and Dad aren’t perfect but they are doing the best they can with what they know and they love you so very much. (and someday you will be saying, “My parents used to say…” or “They were right about ____”) Shocking I know!
-Above all else, have fun no matter who you’re with, where you are or what you’re doing.

Stay tuned for my next post, ‘Dear 15 Year Old Me.’

Share with me in the comments below something you would tell the younger 10 year old version of yourself if you had the chance – silly or serious. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

With love,
S.

2 thoughts on “Dear Younger Me

Leave me a little love note:

