Thoughts

My name is GOSSIP…

My name is GOSSIP
I have no respect for justice
I maim without killing
I break hearts and ruin lives
I’m cunning and malicious and gather strength with age
The more I’m quoted the more I’m believed
My victims are helpless. They can not protect themselves from me because I have no name and no face.
To track me down is impossible, the more you try the more elusive I become.
I am nobody’s friend.
Once I tarnish a reputation, it’s never the same.
I topple governments and wreck marriages.
I ruin careers and cause sleepless nights, heartache and indigestion.
I make innocent people cry in their pillows.
Even my name hisses. I am called GOSSIP. I make headlines and heartaches.
Before you repeat a story ask yourself:
Is it true? You know that for sure? Is it harmless? Is it necessary? If you hadn’t heard it, would it have been any of your business?
If not, don’t say tell it.

This showed up on my Facebook news feed this morning; Gregg Braden posted this on his page. He’s such a wise and intelligent man I might add! I was going to share it on my page but then I found that I had more than a few lines to add. Shocking. I have the “gift of gab” some times. 🙂 And what a better place to come then here on my blog to share my thoughts with the People of the Internet. My mind is blown every time someone from a totally unexpected country comes by my blog. I know, I know… it’s the Internet; it’s almost everywhere and a ridiculously large portion of Earthlings have access to it. But still! It’s amazing connecting with people all over the world. Okay, I am completely getting side tracked here…*focus*

I think that most people would be surprised at how little they, in fact, have to say and talk about if they stopped gossiping and talking about other people and their lives. If you don’t hear something directly from the person, chances are the information has been skewed in some way. Or whatever you have heard, is the absolute truth, said no one ever. But don’t be that person that gets caught up in it, regardless of the “truth-ness” of what you’ve been told. Chances are it has absolutely nothing to do with you nor effect you in any capacity, so it’s not your place to share it with everyone or anyone for that matter. There’s a tendency to get caught up in the thrill (for lack of a better word) of it all, that stopping and thinking about if we were in that person’s shoes, how we would feel, doesn’t even cross our mind. If we did, chances are most of us would choose not to repeat a story. And I am sure each and every one of us can think of a time where some sort of gossip has flown around about us.

Ah, celebrities. People LOVE to hear about what’s going on with them and many assume that everything they read in the magazines and on the Internet is the truth. Some people talk about them as though they know them because they keep up-to-date via smutt magazines. We place them on this pedestal and almost forget that they are human, with human experiences so when stuff goes down with Brad and Angelina, woo! We feel good! ‘Oh golly, Britney Spears is having another mental breakdown, let’s find out as much information as possible, not because I want to help her and feel for her, because it makes me feel awesome since I’m not “crazy” like her.’ I’m being slightly dramatic here but you get how silly all of that sounds…

Believe none of what you hear and only half of what you read may be a good philosophy to adopt about everything.

We live in a society where there is an obsession of what’s going on in other people’s lives. We spend a great deal of time and energy on discussing and keeping up-to-date what’s going on with other people – that time and energy would be better invested in ourselves creating our best lives. We’re social creatures, I understand this, but the interest in what’s going on with another person does not always stem from best motives (i.e. my dramatic example on celebrities). Much of humanity seems to get pleasure out of other people’s misfortunes, whether that is a celebrity or someone they know personally in some way. Hearing about how “crappy” someone else is doing is not a measure to then gauge the “greatness” of your own life. If you enjoy seeing or hearing the struggles of another person, however true or untrue it is, because it makes you feel better about yourself, your ego has got the best of you and it’s best to put it in check. There’s almost a lack of empathy and compassion for those that are going down a dark path.

Ladies, we are the worst culprits of this gossiping! And you know exactly what I am talking about. Most girls/women would more likely gossip about someone they are in a disagreement with or dislike, to the extent of tarnishing that person’s reputation, not to mention the emotional stress placed on that person…than say, do what some boys/men do. Get in a fist fight and then call a truce. I am being rather stereotypical here but there is truth to this. I don’t condone either of these methods of problem solving but physical pain is much easier to deal with than emotional pain. The body will heal it’s physical self, where it’s more challenging to heal the emotional self.

I think many people are also uncomfortable with silence. Riding the elevator for people can be painful and awkward because you’re surrounded by people and no one is saying anything. Yes, we are social creatures but so what if there’s 15 seconds of silence? I think we all could benefit from being quiet more often. If people are sitting around the dinner table and not talking, that’s okay too because it’s a sign, in my opinion, they are really enjoying their meal. Compliments to the chef! It’s not always a sign of something being wrong and you don’t always have to fill the quiet space with talking. People’s uncomfortable-ness with silence leads people feeling the need to discuss anything to end the silence, which usually leads to superficial conversations about the latest workplace gossip for instance. Gossip can only be as detrimental as the people who perpetuate it. Keep in mind, if someone is going to talk to you about other people, chances are they are discussing you with others as well.

Be an interesting person, with knowledge on a variety of topics, who does different things; someone who is essentially living not just alive and you will have much more to talk about with other people. Actions speak louder than words, so make your opinions of others based on your experiences with them based on what they do, not what you hear. Gossip only perpetuates this separation between each other; we are more alike and connected than our human minds have the ability to comprehend. So let’s start talking about the stuff that really matters!

As always,
Much Love.
S.

5 thoughts on “My name is GOSSIP…

  1. Thanks for writing this Steph. You make a very good point. It would be great if everyone took this consideration and taught it to their children. Not that I have never been guilty of gossip or reading about celebrities.

    Like

    1. Thank you Penning! Yes, you make a valid point as well – oh, in a perfect world. 🙂 I’ve been guilty of it as well but like you, we are human. I’ll never claim to be perfect – just pretty darn close. Hehe! 😉

      Like

Leave me a little love note:

