For The Soul · Health/Well Being · Thoughts

Laughter: The Best of the Best

The kind that makes your belly ache and tears roll down your face, the kind that your breathing feels like it has essentially stopped so no sound even comes out except an occasional gasp of air or raspy-ness, the kind that last so long, you’re no longer laughing at whatever was funny, you’re laughing because you can’t stop laughing, the kind that makes you question the strength of your bladder…is one of the best feelings…ever. Simply awesome!

Image

I am writing about this tonight because this happened to me tonight while out with a few friends. And I am also writing this because I realized that it has been a while since I completely let go in the moment and gave into my laughter. Many times I am at work since this is where I spend a lot of my time and it would be rather “unprofessional” in these circumstances if I burst out laughing, so instead of risking getting reprimanded, I (usually) hold it back, pull up my big girl panties (figuratively speaking of course) and exhibit self-control like the grown up I am. But! Have you ever noticed how something is funnier when you’re not ‘allowed to’ or ‘shouldn’t’ laugh? Oh, the irony! Sure, I laugh every day, absolutely, but it’s not every day that I get to enjoy a good belly aching, tear rolling, breath stopping kind of laugh…

Whoever said laughter was nature’s best medicine is bang on. I can completely agree with that statement and there have been all kinds of scientific studies done on the positive physiological effects laughter has on our bodies. But I don’t need any study to tell me laughter does my body good because I can feel it, during and after (my breathing has maintained it’s natural rhythm). It’s feels awesome!

As we grow older, we are conditioned by society to essentially “tame” our inner child. We are expected to be mature, serious adults more often then not. Who said getting older meant we had to grow up completely? “We don’t stop laughing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop laughing.” That has to be one of my favorite quotes. I believe laughter is what keeps us ‘young at heart’ so to speak. And according to many studies, it’s what keeps our bodies young too. We can learn something quite valuable from watching children; they are completely immersed in the moment, they laugh a lot, aren’t afraid to be silly, creative or find pleasure in the littlest of things.

Image
(Notice I figured out how to add pictures? I’m stepping up in the blogging world! :))

So laugh often, laugh hard; what’s the worse that can happen? Yes, some of you may test the strength of your bladder and it will fail…but heck, it’ll give you something to laugh at…down the road!

Love, Light and Laughter,
S.

Leave me a little love note:

