Documentaries · Health/Well Being

Fluoride- What Many of You Don’t Know

This morning I was pondering what topic to discuss today; I really wanted to write something inspiring/spiritual but nothing was standing out to me. I even searched my journal for inspiration. However, I haven’t been awake long enough-well… by my standards. For those of you who know me, it takes a good few hours before my mind becomes alert to this 3D reality, so I am going with that as to why my mind can’t focus yet. I have decided to keep it simple and discuss health, which is something new for me on this blog. New is fun!

This video is about the harmful effects of fluoride. Just because the media, your dentist and the products you buy state all of these “benefits,” it does not mean it’s true. Yes, I am saying question what you read and hear from any source. I am also saying there’s nothing wrong with healthy skepticism and curiosity. I have briefly discussed this human phenomenon of blindly following the pack in my post about Christmas, but I believe it’s so important. So again I encourage you to do your own research in all topics you feel are relevant to you and your life. Find what makes sense to you in your heart and in your gut so you can be authentic and live YOUR own life; not the life of someone else. Live the life you have created for yourself.

So back to fluoride- many cities fluoridate their water. In Canada, each city is legally obligated to publicly post what is in the tap water so check with your city’s website or call your local health unit. Even if your city does not fluoridate the water (which is great), there are still many other chemicals (i.e. chlorine) in the water. I encourage you to do some research and buy yourself a water filter that suits your needs and your budget. Note: Bottled water also contains fluoride so make sure to read the labels before you buy.

I also encourage you to switch to an all natural toothpaste; you can find ones that do not contain any fluoride, SLS or other harmful chemicals found in all other mainstream toothpastes (and beauty products for that matter). Note: Some “natural” toothpastes do contain fluoride so take the time to read the ingredients before you buy anything. I will admit that it is more expensive to buy natural toothpastes than other toothpastes; but most importantly, our health is worth it though. In my experience with using natural products, I have found I don’t need as much, a little seems to go a long way AND since I am consciously aware that ‘product A’ cost a bit more money, I use less because I don’t want to “waste my money” by using more than I need. On my ‘to do’ list this year will be to find a filter for my shower head. Our skin is our largest organ, our first line of defense against environmental pollutants and toxins so it’s important to be mindful of what our skin is absorbing, through our water and our skin care products.

If you would like to know about any of the products or water filter I use, just ask. I chose not to include it in this post because my focus was to provide you with the information on fluoride; I didn’t want to lose your attention by being too long-winded. Maybe it’s too late! 😉 As always, I’m all ears (I guess eyes in this case), so please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below! Here’s to a happy, healthy 2013!

Much love,
S.

One thought on “Fluoride- What Many of You Don’t Know

Leave me a little love note:

