Thoughts

New Year, New Adventures

“Write it on your heart that every day is the best day in the year.”- Ralph Waldo Emerson

So 2012 is coming to an end…and we’re all still alive! Woo! I will resist the urge to say I told you so. 🙂 This is usually a time of the year where many of us sit down and figure out our new year’s resolutions; usually compiled of a list of what we will do better this time around and what we didn’t get done the year before. I was never one to take my resolutions too seriously. However, there were a few times where I did and when I didn’t succeed in accomplishing, my sometimes entirely too lofty goals, I’d beat myself up for not “getting it done.” This completely takes all fun out of it.

So I have changed my approach and focused on short term, attainable goals. For example, instead of setting a goal of traveling the globe (which is still something on my “bucket list”), I’d change it to go on a trip somewhere closer to home. And I have the philosophy if I really want to do it, I will make it a priority. I also hesitate to use to word “goal” because I find that word focuses more on the end result and less on the getting there part. And in my humble opinion, it’s the getting there part, the journey, that is all the fun! That’s also how I look at life; we will never get it done so to speak because when we get ‘there’, we want to get ‘there’ and then ‘there’. You catch my drift so I do my best to enjoy the ride.

I always put something or many things on my list that put me back on my priority list. I ask myself, ‘what is something I really want to do, just for me?’ We all have been there where we get distracted with every day responsibilities and tend to put ourselves on the back burner. It’s important to take the best care of ourselves so we can give the best to those we care about. Being selfish in the truest sense of the word isn’t a bad thing but that is a whole other discussion for another day, not today.

What are your thoughts on new year’s resolutions? If you do them, what are some of the things you want to accomplish this year? I’ll share a few of mine with you. I am going to teach myself how to play the acoustic guitar and the north american flute. I have already started to learn a few cords, slowly I might add and I never thought I would say I want calluses but my goodness…I WANT calluses! It’s painful but I’m excited to tap into my creative side and challenge myself in a way I never have before. I am going to do my yoga and meditations more consistently and open a Tax Free Savings Account to name a few. Oh, and of course, keep my blog up to date. 🙂

As the quote at the beginning of this post says, I hope you make it a point, regardless if you take part in new year’s resolutions or not, to make the best of each and every day. All we truly have is right now; not yesterday or tomorrow, not 2 years ago or 5 years from now. Wishing you all a wonderful start to your brand new adventures!

Much Love,
S.

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Adventures

  1. Happy New Year! I hope you keep all your above mentioned “resolutions”; they sound reasonable. You have inspired me set more attainable goals for the new year 🙂

    Like

Leave me a little love note:

